Public Library Service Area Maps


  1. Maps include notes about overlapping areas, and individual Assembly and Senate District maps are now "clickable" with links to library web sites.

By Library System | County | Statewide Map || Legislative Districts: Senate | Assembly | Congress || Type of Library

Click on a Library System on the map below or on the name of the System in the list below, to see Service Area maps for that system and for each county in the system.

image map of NYS public library systems

Public Library Systems

Buffalo-Erie | Chautauqua-Cattaraugus |Clinton-Essex-Franklin | Finger Lakes | Four County | Mid-Hudson | Mid-York | Mohawk Valley | Monroe | Nassau | Nioga | North Country | Onondaga | Pioneer | Ramapo Catskill | Southern Adirondack | Southern Tier | Suffolk | Upper Hudson | Westchester

By County


Map of New York State showing unserved areas at right, and map showing all types of libraries at far right; click on the maps to see a larger version.

map showing service areas by charter type in New York; click for a larger version

Map date 8/18/2014: View/download a high-resolution version in .PDF

NOTE: Unserved is defined in §90.3 [Approval of public library systems] (10) of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education as those individuals residing in geographic areas that are within the boundaries of a public library system but outside the boundaries of a chartered service area of a library which is a member of that system. SEE ALSO Number of Formerly Unserved New Yorkers Now With a Local Public Library.


Senate District

See thumbnails of all Senate Districts or select a district from the pull-down menu

Assembly District

See thumbnails of all Assembly Districts or select a district from the pull-down menu

Congressional District

See thumbnails of all Congressional Districts or select a district from the pull-down menu

Type of Library

Select a map from the pull-down menu

Back to the Public Library Districts How-To Kit page | Back to Public Library Districts: An Introduction | Library Development home

E-mail comments regarding map content and/or accessibility

Customized GIS maps are funded through the Federal Library Services and Technology Act, with funds awarded by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Nioga (Genesee, Niagara, Orleans counties) Nassau Mid-York (Herkimer, Madison, Oneida counties) Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Buffalo and Erie County Monroe county Southern Tier (Allegany, Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben, Yates counties) Westchester Finger Lakes (Cayuga, Cortland, Seneca, Tioga, Tompkins counties) Onondaga county North Country (Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego, St. Lawrence counties) Clinton-Essex-Franklin Suffolk Cooperative Nassau county Westchester The New York Public Library (Bronx, New York, Richmond counties) Southern Adirondack (Hamilton, Saratoga, Warren, Washington counties) Pioneer (Livingston, Ontario, Wayne, Wyoming counties) Mohawk Valley (Fulton, Montgomery, Schenectady, Schoharie counties) Four County (Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego counties) Ramapo Catskill (Orange, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster [part] counties) Mid-Hudson (Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Putnam, Ulster [part] counties) Upper Hudson (Albany, Rensselaer counties) hot-linked image map of public library systems in NYS
Last Updated: November 5, 2014 -- asm